By Sakeus Iikela

MOST of the opposition parties contesting this month’s presidential and National Assembly elections have made it their mission to break the ruling Swapo Party’s dominance in the National Assembly.

Parties, including the Popular Democratic Movement (PDM), Swanu, RDP and the Landless People’s Movement (LPM), believe that the ruling party’s control with their two-thirds majority was the reason “why the government has failed to address several socio-economic challenges in the country since independence”.

The ruling party has maintained its control with the two-thirds majority of parliament since 1994.

At the moment, they hold 77 of the 96 seats in the National Assembly. Nine opposition parties in parliament share, between them, 19 seats, with the PDM holding the highest number of seats, being five.

Read more:

Share this